To qualify to be a notary you must be eighteen years old, a United States citizen, a resident of New York and have no prior felony convictions. The application packet is available in the Ulster County Clerk's Office. The packet includes, an application, a test study guide, a listing of exam dates and locations. Upon passing the examination you will receive notification in the mail from the Department of State. Return the completed application and a $60.00 fee to the NYS Department of State. You will receive your notary ID card which will be valid for four years.
When your four year term is up you will receive a renewal application in the mail.This application can be processed in the Ulster County Clerk's Office. Complete the renewal form and return by mail or in person to the County Clerk's office with your check or money order for $60.00. You are qualified for four more years upon receipt of this renewal in the Ulster County Clerk's Office. Please note it may take eight to twelve weeks before you receive your Identification card from the Department of State.
If you live in Ulster County but wish to qualify as a notary in another county in New York State you must obtain a Notary Qualification Card from our office to file in the other County Clerk's Office. The fee is $5.00.
Other information is available for the New York Department of State website.